View Bill 13-14-14

Senate Bill 13-14-14

Bill ID: 13-14-14
Name: BOR Staff Awards 2013-2014
Proposed: 11/09/2013
Sponsor: Council of University System Staff (CUSS)
Proposal: The Council of University System Staff (CUSS) is accepting nominations for the 2013-2014 Board of Regents' University System of Maryland Staff Awards. These awards present an excellent opportunity for USM institutions to recognize outstanding staff members. The awards represent the highest honor bestowed by the Board of Regents for achievements of Exempt and Non-Exempt Staff employees from institutions within the University System of Maryland. All of the USM institutions are encouraged to submit nominations for the Board of Regents' Staff Awards.

In accordance with the Board of Regents' Policy, the nominations must be reviewed at each institution before submission to the CUSS Awards Review Committee. At the University of Maryland College Park, the Senate Staff Affairs Committee (representative of all classifications of employees at UMCP) reviews all nomination packages and submits recommendations to the President. The President will send recommendations to the CUSS Awards Review Committee. The CUSS Awards Review Committee will then select the final candidates to be submitted to the USM Board of Regents. Recipients will be announced in Summer 2014 with formal presentation of the award recipients by the Board of Regents in early Fall 2014.


Status: Completed
Completed On: 06/27/2014


BOR Approval: 06/27/2014
Related Files:

Reviewed By: Council of University System Staff (CUSS)
Received: 01/31/2014
Decision: To recommend finalists to the BOR for approval.
Actions: The CUSS Awards Review Committee will review the nomination packages from all USM Institutions, and submit its recommendations for awards to the Board of Regents in late Spring 2014.
Next Step: Board of Regents (BOR) Review
Related Files:

Reviewed By: President Loh
Received: 01/24/2014
Decision Date: 01/30/2014
Decision Due By: 01/31/2014
Decision: To confirm and endorse the seven nominations as recommended by the Senate Staff Affairs Committee for the 2013-2014 USM BOR Staff Awards.
Actions: President Loh reviewed the nomination materials as submitted by the Staff Affairs Committee.
Next Step: CUSS Review
Related Files:

Reviewed By: Staff Affairs Committee
Received: 11/12/2013
Decision Due By: 01/24/2014
Actions: The Staff Affairs Committee began discussing advertising strategies for the nominations process at the beginning of the fall semester. CUSS sent instructions to the University on November 9, 2013. The committee set the campus nominations due date as Friday, December 20, 2013. A webpage with instructions was created on the Senate website; the webpage went live on Wednesday, November 13, 2013. An email announcing the awards process was sent to all staff and faculty members on Tuesday, November 19, 2013.

A subcommittee was established for review of nomination packets. The subcommittee members include:

Denise Best (Non-Exempt Staff)
Regina King (Non-Exempt Staff)
Rev Ward (Non-Exempt Staff)
Maribeth Kibbey (Contingent II Staff)
Gloria Blackwell (Exempt Staff)
Taryn Faulkner (Exempt Staff)
Debbie Grover (Exempt Staff)
Chuck Wilson (Exempt Staff)
Jo Zimmerman (Librarian Faculty)

Rev Ward was elected to serve as chair of the subcommittee. The Staff Affairs Committee's BOR Staff Awards Review Subcommittee reviewed 16 exempt staff nomination packages and 4 non-exempt staff nomination packages as submitted for the 2013-2014 BOR Staff Awards for the University of Maryland College Park campus. All nomination packages were collected by the Senate Office and posted to the Staff Affairs Committee's secure webpage.

The 2013-2014 BOR Staff Awards Review Subcommittee met on December 11, 2013 to discuss the review process. Rev Ward (Non-Exempt Staff) was elected as Subcommittee Chair. The subcommittee also met on January 13, 2014 to discuss all of the nomination packages and vote on the nominees for recommendation to the full Staff Affairs Committee and for presentation to President Loh. The subcommittee members used quantitative and qualitative evaluation forms for their individual reviews, as designed by the 2011-2012 Staff Affairs Committee.

Following review and discussion, the subcommittee voted to put forward seven recommended nomination packages to the full Senate Staff Affairs Committee for consideration. The full Staff Affairs Committee reviewed the recommendations as submitted by the subcommittee, and voted in favor of forwarding the following nominations for consideration by President Loh:

1. For Exceptional Contribution to the Institution and/or Unit to which the Person Belongs

Exempt: June Sherer
Non-Exempt: John Snyder

2. For Extraordinary Public Service to the University or to the Greater Community

Exempt: Joseph Smith
Non-Exempt: Paige Miller

3. For Outstanding Service to Students in an Academic or Residential Environment

Exempt: Bryan Quinn
Non-Exempt: Dianne Barrett

4. Effectiveness and Efficiency Award

Academic Transformation: None
Administrative Transformation: Dawn Myers

The seven nominees were forwarded to President Loh on Friday, January 24, 2014.
Next Step: Presidential Review
Related Files: