

OFFICE OF THE CHANCELLOR

June 8, 2015

1807 University of Maryland, Baitimore

1856 University of Maryland, College Park

1865 Bowie State University

1866 Towson University

1886 University of Maryland Eastern Shore

1898 Frostburg State University

1900 Coppin State University

1925 Salisbury University

1925 University of Baitimore

1925 University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science

1947 University of Maryland University College

1966 University of Maryland, Baltimore County Dr. Wallace Loh President University of Maryland 1101 Main Administration Building College Park, MD 20742

Dear Wallace:

I am pleased to approve the University of Maryland's revisions to Consideration of a New Post-Doctoral Title (Senate Doc. No. 14-15-28); UM Guidelines for Appointment, Evaluation, Promotion of Professional Track Faculty (Senate Doc. No. 14-15-09); and the University of Maryland Policy and Procedures on Appointment, Promotion, and Tenure of Faculty, which were submitted to me in March 2015 and approved for legal form and sufficiency by the Office of the Attorney General on May 22, 2015.

Please convey my appreciation to the Mary Ann Rankin and the faculty for their careful consideration of these revisions.

Sincerely yours,

William E. Kirwan Chancellor

cc: Mary Ann Rankin, Senior Vice President and Provost