TRANSMITTAL | #17-18-15

Senate Committee on Committees

Nominations Committee Slate 2017-2018

PRESENTED BY Christopher Walsh, Chair

REVIEW DATES SEC - November 28, 2017 | SENATE - December 7, 2017

VOTING METHOD In a single vote

RELEVANT POLICY/DOCUMENT

N/A

NECESSARY APPROVALS

Senate

ISSUE

The University Senate Bylaws state, "By no later than the scheduled December meeting of the Senate, the Committee on Committees shall present to the Senate eight (8) nominees from among outgoing Senate members to serve on the Nominations Committee. The nominees shall include four (4) faculty members, one (1) exempt staff member, one (1) non-exempt staff member, one (1) graduate student, and one (1) undergraduate student. Further nominations shall not be accepted from the floor of the Senate. The Senate, as a body, shall approve the slate of nominees to serve on the Nominations Committee."

RECOMMENDATION

The Committee on Committees recommends that the Senate approve the slate as presented.

COMMITTEE WORK

The Committee on Committees met on October 31, 2017, to discuss a process for soliciting nominations for the Senate Nominations Committee. The Senate Office had previously contacted all Outgoing Senators regarding the opportunity to serve on the Nominations Committee and received a few volunteers. The Committee on Committees discussed the volunteers at the meeting and additional recruitment tasks were assigned. As required by the Bylaws, the committee assembled a total of eight nominees from among the Outgoing Senators to present to the Senate.

ALTERNATIVES

The Senate can decide not to approve the slate.

RISKS

There are no risks to the University.

FINANCIAL IMPLICATIONS

There are no financial implications.

2016-2017 Senate Nominations Committee Slate

Name/Constituency	Department/Unit	<u>College</u>	<u>Term</u>
Non-Voting Ex-Officio			
Christopher Walsh	Plant Sci & Landscape Arch. / Senate Chair- Elect	AGNR	2018
Faculty			
Robert DiLutis	School of Music	ARHU	2018
Lee Friedman	Chemistry & Biochemistry	CMNS	2018
Patricio Korzeniewicz	Sociology	BSOS	2018
Raghu Raghavan	Decision, Operations, & Info. Technologies	BMGT	2018
Exempt Staff			
Andrea Dragan	Research Compliance Office	VPR	2018
Non-Exempt Staff			
Timea Webster	Office of Diversity & Inclusion	SVPAAP	2018
Graduate Student			
Katrina Hauprich	Counseling, Higher Ed, & Special Ed	EDUC	2018
Undergraduate Student			
Jane Lyons	Economics	BSOS	2018