

1100 Marie Mount Hall College Park, Maryland 20742 Tel: (301) 405-5805 www.senate.umd.edu

Memorandum

To: Christopher Walsh, Chair, University Senate

From: Erin Rooney-Eckel, Chair, Senate Staff Affairs Committee

Date: August 9, 2018

Re: Council of University System Staff (CUSS) Election Results

During the 2017-2018 academic year, the Staff Affairs Committee was responsible for conducting an election to identify primary and alternate representatives from the University of Maryland to serve on CUSS (Senate Document #17-18-26).

The Senate Office sent announcements to all eligible staff members regarding the elections. All exempt and non-exempt staff employees on regular and contingent II status who are not part of a collective bargaining unit represented by a union were eligible to run for CUSS and vote for CUSS representatives. UMD is entitled to three primary representatives and up to three alternate representatives. The candidacy period ran from March 7 - March 16, 2018. The elections took place online via the Senate website from March 21-March 31, 2018. The election results were reported to all eligible staff members on April 2, 2018.

There were seven nominees: Darrell Claiborne, Sarah Goff, Elizabeth Hinson, Andrea Morris, Matthew Nessan, Kalia Patricio, and Maureen Schrimpe. The following staff members were elected to serve as primary representatives: **Sarah Goff**, **Kalia Patricio**, and **Maureen Schrimpe**. The three alternate representatives were **Darrell Claiborne**, **Elizabeth Hinson**, and **Andrea Morris**. **Morris** subsequently stepped down from her position. The candidate with the next-highest number of votes was **Matthew Nessan**, who agreed to replace her as an alternate representative. All representatives will serve two-year terms starting in August 2018. They will also serve as ex-officio members of the Staff Affairs Committee, as specified in the Senate Bylaws.

The Staff Affairs Committee respectfully requests that these election results be announced to the University Senate at the first meeting of the 2018-2019 academic year in September 2018.

Thank you.

ERE:amt