MINUTES | MAY 9, 2023

3:15PM - 5:00PM | ZOOM | MEMBERS PRESENT: 144

CALL TO ORDER

Chair Newman called the meeting to order at 3:16 p.m.

ELECTION OF SENATE CHAIR ELECT (ACTION)

Gene Ferrick and Jordan Sly were identified as the candidates for Chair-Elect. Gene Ferrick is an exempt staff member from the College of Computer, Mathematical, and Natural Sciences. Jordan Sly is a Librarian III from the University Libraries.

Nominations were taken from the floor for any additional nominees for the position of Chair-Elect. Senator Hajiaghayi, faculty, College of Computer, Mathematical, and Natural Sciences self-nominated as a candidate for Chair-Elect.

Jordan Sly was elected Chair-Elect.

APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES, APRIL 26, 2023 MEETING

Chair Newman asked if there were any additions or corrections to the minutes of the April 26, 2023 meeting; hearing none, she declared the minutes approved as distributed.

TRANSITION MEETING SLATE 2023-2024 (SENATE DOCUMENT #22-23-25) (ACTION)

Chair Newman stated that all Senators and Deans should have received the slates and statements for all of the candidates running in the Transition Elections for the Senate's elected committees and councils with the meeting materials. She stated that all of the elected committee and council elections will be held online starting immediately after this meeting and provided instruction for online voting for the Transition Elections.

Nominations were taken from the floor for faculty, staff, and student representatives for the Senate Executive Committee (SEC), the Committee on Committees, the University Athletic Council, the Council of University System Faculty (CUSF), and the Campus Transportation Advisory Committee (CTAC).

Senator Elonge, faculty, College of Agriculture and Natural Resources, self-nominated as a candidate for the SEC.

Senator Mikoulinskii, graduate student, College of Education, self-nominated as a candidate for the SEC.

Senator Hajiaghayi, faculty, College of Computer, Mathematical, and Natural Science selfnominated as a candidate for the SEC.

Senator Mahamalage, undergraduate student, Letters & Sciences self-nominated as a candidate for the Committee on Committees.

Senator Frenkel, undergraduate student, College of Behavioral and Social Sciences, nominated Senator Biswas, undergraduate student, Business and Management, and Senator Fox, undergraduate student, A. James Clark School of Engineering, as candidates for the Committee on Committees.

Senator Elonge, faculty, College of Agriculture and Natural Resources, self-nominated as a candidate for CUSF.

Senator Biswas, undergraduate student, Business and Management, nominated Senator Vinodh, undergraduate student, College of Computer, Mathematical, and Natural Science, as a candidate for CTAC.

Senator Rose, undergraduate student, A. James Clark School of Engineering, self-nominated as a candidate for CTAC.

Chair Newman stated that Senators will have until 4:00 p.m. on Friday, May 12th, 2023 to complete online voting. She added that winners will be announced after the voting is closed.

REPORT OF THE OUTGOING CHAIR, ROCHELLE NEWMAN (INFORMATION)

Chair Newman expressed her gratitude to everyone for their hard work in the Senate throughout the year. She extended her thanks to the Senate Office staff and recognized their exceptional work during challenging times. She also expressed her appreciation for the Senate Parliamentarian Falvey, outgoing past-Chair Williams, and incoming Chair Jarzynski for their invaluable contributions. She reviewed the actions and policy reviews that were undertaken throughout the school year such as the Interim University of Maryland Non-Discrimination Policy and Procedures, the Technical Revisions to the University of Maryland Procedures on Conflict of Interest and Conflict of Commitment, the Proposal to Promote Mental Health and Equity in the Excused Absence Policy, and the Review of the Interim University of Maryland Policy and Procedures on the Naming of Facilities and Programs.

REPORT OF THE INCOMING CHAIR, CHRISTOPHER JARZYNSKI (INFORMATION)

Chair Jarzynksi thanked Newman for her leadership and immense contribution to the University Senate. Jarzynski presented Newman with a plaque in recognition for her service as chair.

Jarzynski went on to express his enthusiasm to begin as chair for the Senate and stressed the significance of shared governance. Jarzynski thanked all of the Senators for their commitment to shared governance.

Jarzynski shared the Senate meeting schedule for the 2023-2024 academic year, which was displayed on screen for Senators. The Senate tries to balance meetings between the Wednesday schedule and Tuesday/Thursday schedule so Senators do not have to miss all of the meetings because of class conflicts. Senate meetings will continue to be held from 3:15 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. All Senate meetings will be held on Zoom, with the exception of the two State of the Campus Addresses, which will be held in person and have a virtual option for those who need it.

NEW BUSINESS
There was no new business
ADJOURNMENT
The meeting was adjourned at 4:02 p.m.