Elections, Representation, & Governance (ERG) Committee

Elections, Representation, & Governance (ERG) Committee

Chair: Andy Horbal (ahorbal@umd.edu)
Coordinator: Aaron Tobiason (tobiason@umd.edu)
Materials (for committee members only)

The Elections, Representation & Governance (ERG) Committee is responsible for preserving the principals of shared governance for the Senate and the University as a whole. The committee reviews the plans of organization for the colleges, schools, and other units on campus, as well as makes any appropriate recommendations for improvement of the overall operation of the Senate. Additionally, it is the ERG Committee's responsibility to review the apportionments for the various constituencies of the Senate to help ensure a proper balance of representation. All changes to the Senate Bylaws and Plan of Organization must go through the ERG Committee.

The committee consists of an appointed presiding officer; six faculty members; one exempt staff member; one non-exempt staff member; two undergraduate and two graduate students; and representatives of the Director of Human Resources and the Associate Vice President for Institutional Research, Planning, and Assessment.

^ Meetings & Agendas

Fall Semester Meetings
Date Time Location Agenda
Spring Semester Meetings
Date Time Location Agenda
Committee Work
Doc No
NameCurrent StatusUnder Review By
13-14-37Revisions to the School of Public Health (SPHL) Plan of OrganizationUnder ReviewElections, Representation, & Governance (ERG) Committee
12-13-37Revisions to the College of Information Studies (INFO) Plan of OrganizationUnder ReviewElections, Representation, & Governance (ERG) Committee

Past Committee Work

Committee Members

DePope, Leigh AnnFacultyLIBRldepope@umd.edu2019
Herrington, JonathanEx-Officio - Director of Human Resources RepVPAFjherrin8@umd.edu2019
Hill, WendellFacultyCMNSwth@umd.edu2019
Horbal, AndrewChairLIBRahorbal@umd.edu2019
Houck, AlexanderNon-Exempt StaffVPSAahouck@umd.edu2020
Johnston, ChristineFacultyAGNRcjohnstn@umd.edu2020
La Voy, SharonEx-Officio - Associate VP IRPA RepSVPAAPslavoy@umd.edu2019
Lai, LishaGraduate StudentBMGTlisha.lai@rhsmith.umd.edu2019
Lathrop, ElizabethFacultyENGRlathrop5@umd.edu2020
Mandell, OliviaUndergraduate StudentBMGTolivia.s.mandell@gmail.com2019
McClure, ElizabethFacultyARHUemcclure@umd.edu2019
Molinaro, KathleenExempt StaffVPSAkmolinar@umd.edu2019
Obergfell, MacGregorGraduate StudentEDUCmobergfe@terpmail.umd.edu2019
Parker, BriaFacultyLIBRblparker@umd.edu2020
Reichard, BenjaminUndergraduate StudentBSOSbreichar@umd.edu2019