Elections, Representation, & Governance (ERG) Committee

Elections, Representation, & Governance (ERG) Committee

Chair: Alan Peel (apeel@umd.edu)
Coordinator: Aaron Tobiason (tobiason@umd.edu)
Materials (for committee members only)

The Elections, Representation & Governance (ERG) Committee is responsible for preserving the principals of shared governance for the Senate and the University as a whole. The committee reviews the plans of organization for the colleges, schools, and other units on campus, as well as makes any appropriate recommendations for improvement of the overall operation of the Senate. Additionally, it is the ERG Committee's responsibility to review the apportionments for the various constituencies of the Senate to help ensure a proper balance of representation. All changes to the Senate Bylaws and Plan of Organization must go through the ERG Committee.

The committee consists of an appointed presiding officer; six faculty members; one exempt staff member; one non-exempt staff member; two undergraduate and two graduate students; and representatives of the Director of Human Resources and the Associate Vice President for Institutional Research, Planning, and Assessment.

^ Meetings & Agendas

Fall Semester Meetings
Date Time Location Agenda
Friday, September 6, 2019 9:00 a.m. - 10:30 a.m. 2136 Physical Sciences Complex Agenda
Monday, September 30, 2019 9:00 a.m. - 10:30 a.m. TBD TBD
Friday, October 25, 2019 10:30 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. 2136 Physical Sciences Complex TBD
Tuesday, November 12, 2019 2:30 p.m. - 4:00 p.m. 2136 Physical Sciences Complex TBD
Friday, December 6, 2019 10:30 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. TBD TBD
Spring Semester Meetings
Date Time Location Agenda
Committee Work
Doc No
NameCurrent StatusUnder Review By
13-14-37Revisions to the School of Public Health (SPHL) Plan of OrganizationUnder ReviewElections, Representation, & Governance (ERG) Committee
12-13-37Revisions to the College of Information Studies (INFO) Plan of OrganizationUnder ReviewElections, Representation, & Governance (ERG) Committee

Past Committee Work

Committee Members

Allen, MacKenzieUndergraduate StudentBSOSmallen16@terpmail.umd.edu2020
Babineau, SarahEx-Officio - Director of Human Resources RepVPAFsbabinea@umd.edu2020
Brewer, HollyFacultyARHUhbrewer@umd.edu2021
Catanzarite, NicoleGraduate StudentBSOSncatanz@terpmail.umd.edu2020
DePope, Leigh AnnFacultyLIBRldepope@umd.edu2021
Houck, AlexanderNon-Exempt StaffVPAFahouck@umd.edu2020
Johnston, ChristineFacultyAGNRcjohnstn@umd.edu2020
Kenneth Ngong, NgamGraduate StudentINELnkenneth@umd.edu2020
Koulish, RobertFacultyBSOSrkoulish@umd.edu2021
La Voy, SharonEx-Officio - Associate VP IRPA RepSVPAAPslavoy@umd.edu2020
Lathrop, ElizabethFacultyENGRlathrop5@umd.edu2020
Oates, CalvinExempt StaffPREScjoates2@umd.edu2021
Parker, BriaFacultyLIBRblparker@umd.edu2020
Peel, AlanChairCMNSapeel@umd.edu2020
Torre, NicholasUndergraduate StudentPUAFntorre1@umd.edu2020