Athletic Council

Athletic Council

Chair: Bradley Hatfield (
Contact: Cody Gambler (

The University Athletic Council exists to help the University develop and maintain the best possible intercollegiate athletic program consistent with the academic integrity of the institution and the academic and social development of student athletes. The Athletic Council is the primary body which advises the President on all matters relating to intercollegiate athletics. It is responsible for formulation and recommendation of policy matters affecting intercollegiate athletics and for monitoring the implementation of such policy by the intercollegiate athletics program. The Council, on behalf of the President, provides the necessary faculty input and participation in intercollegiate athletics as required by the Big Ten Conference, National Collegiate Athletic Association and the University of Maryland. The Council does not execute policy, but serves to influence policy development and administration. More information about the council can be found on the Terrapin Athlethics website.

The Athletic Council membership includes seven faculty representatives and one staff representative that are elected by the Senate (click on the link below for full membership information). Elections for the Senate-elected seats are typically conducted at the Annual Transistion Meeting of the Senate in early May. If you are interested in running for a position on the Athletic Council, please contact the Senate Office at for more information.

Past Committee Work

Council Members

Bali, ManikFaculty Council MemberCMNSmbali@umd.edu2023
Barbarin, OscarVice-ChairBSOSbarbarin@umd.edu2023
Coles, KimFaculty Council MemberARHUkcoles@umd.edu2022
Green, CarltonStaff Council MemberPREScegreen@umd.edu2023
Hatfield, BradleyChair of the councilSPHLbhatfiel@umd.edu2025
Jones, AngelaFaculty Council MemberENGRajones21@umd.edu2022
Lanford, PamelaFaculty Council MemberVPRplanford@umd.edu2023
Levy, DoronFaculty Council MemberCMNSdlevy@umd.edu2024
Prior, StevenFaculty Council MemberSPHLsprior@umd.edu2024
Zimmerman, JoFaculty Council MemberSPHLjzimmer1@umd.edu2023