Research Council

Research Council

Chair: George Hurtt (
Contact: Sarah Hughes (

The Research Council is charged to formulate and continually review policies regarding research, its funding, its relation to graduate and undergraduate academic degree programs, and its service to the community. Also, the Council is charged to review the research needs of faculty, other researchers and students, and to make recommendations to facilitate the research process and productivity of the University. Further, the Council shall formulate and continually review policies on the establishment, naming, reorganization, or abolition of bureaus, centers, or institutes that do not offer programs of instruction or regularly offer courses for credit, including their relationship to graduate and undergraduate academic programs. Additionally, when it perceives problems, the Council has the power to undertake investigative studies and recommend solutions.

Past Committee Work

Council Members

Cadou, ChristopherFacultyENGRcadou@umd.edu2020
Chapman, EricEx-Officio - VP Research RepVPRechapman@umd.edu2019
Eastman, MicheleEx-Officio - President's RepPRESmeastman@umd.edu2019
Enekwe, BlessingEx-Officio - Graduate School RepGRADblessing@umd.edu2019
Epp Schmidt, DietrichGraduate StudentINELdeppschm@umd.edu2019
Fourkas, JohnFacultyCMNSfourkas@umd.edu2019
Hale, CynthiaEx-Officio - Provost's RepSVPAAPchale@umd.edu2019
Holmes, AnnStaffBSOSamholmes@umd.edu2019
Hurtt, GeorgeChairBSOSgchurtt@umd.edu2020
Loeb, MartinFacultyBMGTmploeb@umd.edu2019
Mazandarani Haeri, KioumarsStudentINELqhaeri@umd.edu2019
Montgomery, WendyEx-Officio - Director of ORA RepVPRwmont@umd.edu2019
Pack, MichaelFacultyENGRpackml@umd.edu2020
Puett, RobinFacultySPHLrpuett@umd.edu2019
Roberts, DouglasEx-Officio - Undergraduate Studies RepUGSTroberts@umd.edu2019
Smith, Martha NellFacultyARHUmnsmith@umd.edu2019
Taneyhill, LisaFacultyAGNRltaney@umd.edu2020
Wexler, JadeFacultyEDUCjawexler@umd.edu2019
Williams, StephanieUndergraduate StudentCMNSswillia7@umd.edu2019