Equity, Diversity, & Inclusion (EDI) Committee

Equity, Diversity, & Inclusion (EDI) Committee

Chair: Jorge Bravo (jbravo@umd.edu)
Coordinator: Michele Reed (mereed@umd.edu)
Materials (for committee members only)

The Committee on Equity, Diversity, & Inclusion supports the efforts of the Office of Diversity and Inclusion by actively promoting an equitable, diverse, and inclusive campus that is free from all forms of discrimination. The committee forumulates and reviews policies and procedures pertaining to issues of equity, diversity, and inclusion, including policies on non-discrimination and accessibility. 

The EDI Committee consists of an appointed presiding officer; five faculty members; three exempt staff members; two non-exempt staff members; two graduate students; two undergraduate students; and the following persons or a representative of each: the Senior Vice President and Provost, the Vice President for Diversity & Inclusion, the Vice President for Administration & Finance, the Vice President for Student Affairs, and the Director of the Office of Civil Rights and Sexual Misconduct.

^ Meetings & Agendas

Fall Semester Meetings
Date Time Location Agenda
Monday, October 4, 2021 10:30 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. Zoom Agenda
Monday, October 25, 2021 11:00 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. Zoom Cancelled
Monday, November 15, 2021 11:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. Zoom Agenda
Monday, December 6, 2021 1:00 pm. - 2:30 p.m. Zoom Cancelled
Spring Semester Meetings
Date Time Location Agenda
*Please contact the committee coordinator if you would like the link to attend the meeting.
Committee Work
Doc No
NameCurrent StatusUnder Review By
19-20-33Review of the University of Maryland Policy on Threatening and Intimidating ConductUnder ReviewEquity, Diversity, & Inclusion (EDI) Committee

Past Committee Work

Committee Members

Ali, ShavanahUndergraduate StudentBSOSsali1210@umd.edu2022
Bravo, JorgeChairARHUjbravo@umd.edu2022
Dixon Cravens, JenniferFacultyAGNRjdixoncr@umd.edu2022
DuDonis, RobertNon-Exempt StaffVPArdudonis@umd.edu2023
Dula, BrandonEx-Officio - VP Student Affairs RepVPSAbdula@umd.edu2022
Fajingbesi, TemitopeFacultyAGNRtopefaj7@umd.edu2022
Hammer, DonnaExempt StaffCMNSdhammer@umd.edu2023
Karmiol, GraceEx-Officio - OCRSM RepPRESgkarmiol@umd.edu2022
Lalwani, SheilaFacultyARHUslalwani@umd.edu2023
Lee, Sun YoungFacultyARHUsunlee@umd.edu2023
Martens, AnneEx-Officio - VP Administration & Finance RepVPAamartens@umd.edu2022
McDorman, SGraduate StudentEDUCsamcdor@umd.edu2022
Medina, BrianEx-Officio - Vice President for Diversity & Inclusion or RepPRESbamedina@umd.edu2022
Rosenthal, LauraEx-Officio - Provost's RepARHUlrosent1@umd.edu2022
Sawyer, TunjiExempt StaffPREStsawyer@umd.edu2023
Sobalvarro, MichaelUndergraduate StudentCMNSmss243@terpmail.umd.edu2022
Valentine, CurtisFacultyPLCYcvalent2@umd.edu2022
Vallimyalil, MelGraduate StudentINELgeorgemv@umd.edu2022
Walborn, LaurieNon-Exempt StaffPRESlwalborn@umd.edu2022